Women’s World Cup 2023 Live Draw: Full Group Results, Teams, Match Schedule, New Zealand Schedule Revealed

The draw for the 2023 Women’s World Cup will take place in Auckland on Saturday October 22.

While three places remain to be won, 29 teams have already qualified for the tournament which will take place in Australia and New Zealand from July 20 to August 20, 2023.

For the first time in Women’s World Cup history, eight groups will be formed for the tournament with only the top two teams from each qualifying for the round of 16.

sports news will follow the live draw from Auckland and provide a full group breakdown below.

MORE: Full FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023 schedule

Women’s World Cup 2023 groups

The table below will be updated as teams are placed in each group.

Australia and New Zealand, co-hosts, were automatically placed in the first two groups.

group A A1: New Zealand A2: Norway A3:To confirm A4:To confirm
Group B B1: Australia B2:To confirm B3:To confirm B4: Canada
Group C C1: Spain C2:To confirm C3:To confirm C4: Japan
Group D D1: England D2:To confirm D3:To confirm D4: China
Group E E1: UNITED STATES E2:To confirm E3: Netherlands E4:To confirm
Group F F1: France F2:To confirm F3:To confirm F4:To confirm
Group G G1: Sweden G2:To confirm G3:To confirm G4:To confirm
Group H H1: Germany H2:To confirm H3:To confirm H4:To confirm

MORE: When does the 2023 Women’s World Cup start? | New World Cup mascot unveiled

Women’s World Cup draw live updates, New Zealand highlights

(All times AEDT)

6:30 p.m.: The draw for pot 2 is as follows:

  • Group A: Norway (A2)
  • Group B: Canada (B4)
  • Group C: Japan (C4)
  • Group D: China (D4)
  • Group E: Netherlands (E3)
  • Group F:
  • Group G:
  • Group H:

6:22 p.m.: The draw for pot 1 is as follows:

  • Group A: New Zealand (A1)
  • Group B: Australia (B1)
  • Group C: Spain (C1)
  • Group D: England (D1)
  • Group E: USA (E1)
  • Group F: France (F1)
  • Group G: Sweden (G1)
  • Group H: Germany (H1)

6:10 p.m.: A quick draw explainer being read before it actually begins. Only a few more minutes now.

6:05 p.m.: Maia Jackman, Cate Campbell, Gilberto Silva, Zoi Sadowski-Synnott, Julie Dolan, Ian Wright, Geremi and Alexi Lalas are all set to enter the draw.

6 p.m.: The balls and balls are now out on stage…

5:57 p.m.: Looks like one last video is airing before the draw begins. Not too long now!

5:55 p.m.: A rather moving video is released highlighting the journeys of former footballers who became coaches before Jill Ellis brought out the trophy on stage.

5:45 p.m.: FIFA President Gainni Infantino speaks now. Starts by showing off her array of languages ​​and suggesting they hope some two billion viewers will tune in to the 2023 Women’s World Cup.

5:40 p.m.: New Zealand Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern now takes the stage to welcome everyone to the draw.

5:35 p.m.: Indigenous performances from both countries kicked off the draw with a video package and then also played highlighting each of the cities that will host games during the tournament.

5:30 p.m.: Here we are! The draw ceremony has started in Auckland. We will regularly update the group table above and confirm here that the teams in each pot are placed in their groups.

5:15 p.m.: We have put together a full schedule for the 2023 Women’s World Cup which will be updated as soon as the draw is complete. This will indicate when and where each team will play during the tournament.

5:05 p.m.: The balls in tonight’s draw have two distinct designs that pay tribute to both Australia and New Zealand, who will co-host the tournament in 2023.

4:45 p.m.: Only 45 minutes left until the start of the draw! USWNT legend Carli Lloyd will do the honors tonight with CNN sports anchor Amanda Davies assisting the two-time Women’s World Cup winner.

4:10 p.m.: Best possible draw for Australia? Manager Tony Gustavsson keeps that to himself.

3:45 p.m.: FIFA President immerses himself in local culture in New Zealand.

3:15 p.m.: In this extended World Cup, five nations will participate for the first time in the history of their women’s programme.

2:30 p.m.: Here’s everything you need to know about how the draw works:

1:00 p.m.: Have you ever wondered how a World Cup draw works? FIFA has provided a behind-the-scenes look at today’s preparations below.

10:45 a.m.: The countdown is indeed launched until the draw. As well as determining the eight groups, the draw will also determine who will face New Zealand in the tournament opener.

6:00 am: Hello and welcome to sports news Live coverage of the 2023 Women’s World Cup draw. We’ll know the groups for the tournament in around 12 hours and provide updates before and during the draw. While you wait for the official draw, take a look at our dream group stage scenario for the tournament.

How to watch the FIFA Women’s World Cup draw

The Women’s World Cup draw will be televised worldwide via the official FIFA website and YouTube channel, as have been previous World Cup draws.

Some countries will also provide their own broadcasts and live streams of the event.

Date Time TV channel Diffusion
Australia Sat 22 Oct 5:30 p.m.
Sports Optis,
UNITED STATES Sat 22 Oct 2h30
FS1 fuboTV, Fox Sports app,
Canada Sat 22 Oct 2h30
TSN 1, TSN 3 TSN GO, TSN Direct,
UK Sat 22 Oct 7:30 a.m.
BBC iPlayer,
New Zealand Sat 22 Oct 7:30 p.m.
India Sat 22 Oct 12:00 p.m.
Malaysia Sat 22 Oct 3:30 p.m.
Singapore Sat 22 Oct 3:30 p.m.

Pots for the 2023 Women’s World Cup draw

The pots for the 2023 Women’s World Cup draw were decided on October 13, 2022 based on the latest FIFA rankings.

As co-hosts, Australia and New Zealand were automatically placed in Pot 1, with the highest ranked teams also joining them in this section of the draw.

The remaining teams were placed in pots in descending order based on their ranking.

The undecided winners of the playoffs were automatically placed in pot 4 according to FIFA rules.

Saucepan 1 Saucepan 2 Saucepan 3 Saucepan 4
New Zealand (#22) Canada (#7) Denmark (#18) Nigeria (#45)
Australia (#13) Netherlands (#8) Switzerland (#21) Philippines (#53)
United States (#1) Brazil (#9) Rep. from Ireland (#24) South Africa (#54)
Sweden (#2) Japan (#11) Colombia (#27) Morocco (#76)
Germany (#3) Norway (#12) Argentina (#29) Zambia (#81)
England (#4) Italy (#14) Vietnam (#34) Group A winner of the playoffs
French (#5) China (#15) Costa Rican (#37) Group B winner of the playoffs
Spain (#6) South Korea (#17) Jamaica (#43) Group C winner of the playoffs

# means the FIFA ranking at the time of the draw.

When are the final places for the Women’s World Cup decided?

A 10-team knockout tournament will see the bottom three nations book their places at the 2023 Women’s World Cup.

The knockout tournament will be played February 17-23, 2023 in New Zealand and will involve three groups, with the winner of each group qualifying for the Women’s World Cup.

Here are the teams ready to participate in the playoffs:

  • Asia (AFC): Chinese Taipei, Thailand
  • Africa (CAF): Cameroon, Senegal
  • North America (CONCACAF): Haiti, Panama
  • South America (CONMEBOL): Chile, Paraguay
  • Oceania (OFC): Papua New Guinea
  • Europe (UEFA): Portugal

Comments are closed.